## Name of the forum: English Literary Circle Teacher in Charge: Ms. Mamta Sharma

## **Members of Forum:**

Secretary: Eshan Vaidya

Joint Secretary: Sanya Khisty and Aastha Giri

Treasurer: Krisha Gohil and Utkarshini Rajput

## **Executive Members:**

Niyati Shah Aryan Dhamankar Anirudh Bhalerao Vishaka Swaminathan Chitra Kurup Aditi Malpure



For the academic year 2019-20, the English Literary Circle conducted 3 events, spread evenly across the terms. For the first term, the events were 'Cut Copy Paste', 'Treasure Hunt', and 'JAM- Just A Minute'.

The English Literary Circle's first event of the year, Cut Copy Paste was held on 8th August 2019. This event required participants to make something funny and creative out of nothing but a random newspaper. Over 20 students rose to the challenge and created submissions that ranged from topical to relatable to funny. The winners of the event are as follows:

1st Prize: Janhavi Joshi, FYJC F 2nd Prize: Ashish Menon, FYJC F 3rd Prize: Aryan Pardeshi, FYBCOM E

'Treasure Hunt' was the English Literary Circle's second and flagship event of the year and was held on 21st September. The event was held in two parts, an elimination round and the final treasure hunt. The Treasure Hunt required participants to solve cryptic clues that lead them on a trail across college. At every clue location, they were met with an additional hurdle in the form of a challenging mini-game. Over 80 participants were a part of this event and made it hugely successful. The winners of the event are as follows:

1st Prize: Aditi Malpure (FYBCOM) and Chitra Kurup (FYBMS)

2nd Prize (tie): Shrikha Cheedella (FYJC) and Disha Muthukumar (FYJC)

2nd Prize (tie): Vishakha Deshmukh (FYJC) and Vaishnavi Chari (FYJC)

3rd Prize: Suhani Kulkarni (FYJC) and Vishesh Jain (FYBCOM)

'JAM - Just A Minute' was the last event of the year and was held on 21st January. An extempore speaking event with a twist. JAM rewarded wit and the ability to speak under pressure. Participants were given topics like 'How to kill a Yeti' and 'Making tea with coffee beans'. The event recieved a turnout of over 15 students and the winners were as follows:

1st Prize: Aakash Malatpure - FYBCOM

2nd Prize: Disha Muthukumar - FYJC

3rd Prize: Aryaman Jejurikar - FYBCOM